Your Gift

A few weeks ago, my cousin posted an interesting blog about finding your passion and how God leads people.

My husband and I are pretty involved at our church and one thing we do every Thursday night is attend Focus with our son. It’s our chance to connect with the youth from both our church and the local area in hope of spreading God’s word. We also aim to send them home with a message to continue to spreading the good news.

These last few weeks at Focus, we have been studying Exodus and the story of Moses. I’m not sure how many people are familiar with the story of Moses, but God took an ordinary person, and had him do extraordinary things. Moses led his people out of Egypt, God called him to do so. Moses did not want to at first, and felt he wasn’t capable, but with God in his corner he was able to.

Throughout the Bible God does this with may individuals, he takes ordinary people and gives them the gifts and guidance to do extraordinary things.

On that note, I recently saw video of Steve Harvey. I am sure you all know who Steve Harvey is…and if you don’t, you know him this year because of the Miss Universe Pageant. But that doesn’t matter. The video is of him telling the entire Family Feud audience that they all have a gift. He says that God gives everyone a gift at birth. This doesn’t mean just singing or dancing, but rather everything! Cooking, sewing, and his one example is cutting grass. He had a friend who was great at cutting grass. This person has a landscaping company worth $4 million a year, simply because he was gifted at cutting grass. Steve Harvey Video

Steve then goes on to say that in order to identify that gift, we need to jump.

I am sharing this story with you, because I have come to a crossroads in my life. I could choose to live in fear and doubt or to become an advocate to end sexual violence. Everyday, I ask God, am I doing this the right way? Is this how I am supposed to make a change? How am I going to make a difference? What I really need to do is learn to let go and trust God. God has a plan for me, he has plan for you, he has a plan for everyone. We just need to choose if we want to follow that plan.

So today, I am asking all of you to look in yourselves and see if you have identified your gift. Maybe you do not know what it is yet…but it’s there.

I wish you all the best of luck in figuring out your gift because God has a plan for you.

Leave a Reply

