I hope you’re somewhere praying

Sometimes I pray for you at

On July 6th, Kesha revealed her first single in 4 years, along with its video, and a letter to her fans sharing her new album titled “Rainbow” would drop in August.

Kesha has been in a legal battle for the past few years against Dr.Luke who sexually and emotional abused her. After listening to this song today for the first time, the meaning behind it couldn’t come at a better time.

The song, Praying, discusses “Love thy enemy.” Kesha sings, “You brought the flames and you put me through hell, I had to learn how to fight for myself, And we both know all the truth I could tell, I’ll just say this is I wish you farewell, I hope you’re somewhere praying, praying, I hope your soul is changing, changing, I hope you find your peace, Falling on your knees, praying.”

To me, I feel that she is showing empathy towards her someone, her abuser or whomever has hurt her. I have a tendency to struggle on who deserves empathy/forgiveness and who doesn’t especially when it revolves around sexual violence.

Depending on the circumstances of the story I may hear in the news or read online, the perpetrator may receive my empathy, or I may hope they suffer. As I said it all depends on the severity of the crime. But I am Christen, and it isn’t very Christian-like for me to want someone to suffer. But is it unjust that I want to show compassion for the abuser in hopes that they turn to pray.

I have struggled with this when it comes to my own abuser. There are days I pray for him. I pray that he has changed his ways. And there are days that I do not.

I struggled with this when Trump’s “Locker room talk” came out and many people said that it didn’t matter what he said 10 years ago. I pray that he changes his ways, and that those individuals that say what was said then doesn’t matter, I pray they look at it differently. It’s not that it happened 10 years ago, more that they see that this type of conversation is disrespectful.

I don’t know if there is a wrong or right answer to this struggle, and that is why I am still divided on certain topics. But “Praying” hit home for me. And the monologue, she provides in the beginning of the video, I know not only have I felt that way, but so have many other individuals in this world. And to take those feelings and emotion and be proud, and give empathy to the cause of these feelings is truly couragous. So Kesha Thank you.

Check out Kesha’s letter to her fans here.

See the music video here.

Leave a Reply

